WHO Poll
Q: 2022/23 You are the Chairman what do you do with Moyes?
a. Stick with him obviously, he's delivered two good seasons back to back and will see us out of this dip in form
24%
  
b. If we're still lingering around the bottom three by the start of the WC then that's the time to get rid
37%
  
c. What are we waiting for 2 wins in the last 20 PL games is reason enough to sack him, go now
35%
  
d. I've just got my new Orange & White 3rd Kit with Moyesinho on the back, I can't wait to wear it down to the supermarket, they call me Mr West Ham around here
5%
  



norwaytips 2:37 Fri Apr 8
Serious question regarding the referee va Lyon
Not going to get into the red card debate, or the game stopping, for non injured players, but how can a referee, who was suspended for 6 months, for taking bribes and being a part of the 2005 German match fixing scandal, be allowed to take charge of a European quarter final game?
Felix Zwayer, tonight’s referee, had that punishment dished out to him by the German FA.

Replies - Newest Posts First (Show In Chronological Order)

RichyP 11:46 Sun Apr 10
Re: Serious question regarding the referee va Lyon
The rule is very clear, if you fuck up a throw but the ball doesn’t come into play you get to take again, if you fuck up a throw and the ball does come into play it’s a foul and the throw goes to the opposition, there is no grey area or space for a referee to put their own interpretation on the rule.

The Lyon player didn’t just pick up the ball and drop it accidentally back onto the pitch he picked it up, started the motion of a throw then dropped it accidentally onto the pitch. It’s unfortunate but shit happens and the throw should have been given to us

RichyP 11:46 Sun Apr 10
Re: Serious question regarding the referee va Lyon
The rule is very clear, if you fuck up a throw but the ball doesn’t come into play you get to take again, if you fuck up a throw and the ball does come into play it’s a foul and the throw goes to the opposition, there is no grey area or space for a referee to put their own interpretation on the rule.

The Lyon player didn’t just pick up the ball and drop it accidentally back onto the pitch he picked it up, started the motion of a throw then dropped it accidentally onto the pitch. It’s unfortunate but shit happens and the throw should have been given to us

Hermit Road 10:45 Sun Apr 10
Re: Serious question regarding the referee va Lyon
“ It seemed to me at the time that he motioned to take it. Stopped. Then dropped it. There is therefore grey area”

By definition he dropped the ball while in the motion of taking the throw in and the ball landed in the field of play which means it was a foul throw. There’s no grey area unless you insert something into the laws that doesn’t currently exist.

Fifth Column 10:34 Sun Apr 10
Re: Serious question regarding the referee va Lyon
Sven

"If you slip and accidentally touch the ball and it moves from a free kick then no, play has not restarted."

I didn't say 'if you are in the process of taking a free kick/corner and slip then play has not restarted'. Clearly if you're in the process of restarting play by kicking the ball and you slip then the ball is still deemed in play if you slip whilst doing so.

I said if you slip and accidentally touch the ball ie you are not in the process of taking the kick.

The question re the throw in is exactly as you put it - was he in the process of taking the throw? I haven't seen a replay. It seemed to me at the time that he motioned to take it. Stopped. Then dropped it. There is therefore grey area.

But there is no grey area for pushing Bowen over with a forearm in the back or stopping the match twice for their players who had nothing wrong with them and weren't even faking a head injury - just holding their leg. Stopping the match for those things was just inexplicable to me.

Fifth Column 10:29 Sun Apr 10
Re: Serious question regarding the referee va Lyon
Hermit

If the player is standing behind the white line and starts to take the throw in then yes if they then drop it, it's a foul throw.

If they are holding the ball and just drop it accidentally NOT IN THE COURSE OF TAKING THE THROW then it's not a foul throw. By your logic, if someone goes to pick up the ball to take a throw and then fumbles it over the white line without making any effort to take the throw, then it would be a foul throw.

There is obviously a grey area of at which point it's deemed that the thrower has started to take the throw. If you go to take the throw, stop, then drop it then are you still in the process of taking the throw? Or as you've stopped then has that action ceased?

There is grey area.

Hermit Road 10:22 Sun Apr 10
Re: Serious question regarding the referee va Lyon
“ The ball is in play when it enters the field of play. If the ball touches the ground before entering, the throw-in is retaken by the same team from the same position. If the throw-in is not taken correctly it is retaken by the opposing team.”

Law 15

There isn’t anything there that makes an exception for accidents so it seems pretty clear that it was a foul throw. Whilst you would expect most fans to have to look up the rule to be sure, a referee at that level should know it. Either he knew the rule and ignored it or didn’t know it and was inept. Given how all these decisions went one way, I suspect he knew the rule and intentionally ignored it

Sven Roeder 8:49 Sat Apr 9
Re: Serious question regarding the referee va Lyon
"If you slip and accidentally touch the ball and it moves from a free kick then no, play has not restarted."

Thats sounds like bollocks
Slips and accidents .... so John Terry and Beckham with their pens where their feet went and they slipped should have been retaken?

For the throw he didnt just drop the ball , he was in the action of taking the throw and he did not throw it in the correct manner. Foul throw

Mad Dog 8:48 Sat Apr 9
Re: Serious question regarding the referee va Lyon
Fifth. Yes it does. Its happened a couple of times when players have taken penalties.
Notably Beckham and John Terry.
I believe Rooney took one where it hit his other foot first then his striking foot and a free kick was given against him.

As long as it moves 1 diameter width of the ball, you strike the ball it's classed as taken.

zico 8:27 Sat Apr 9
Re: Serious question regarding the referee va Lyon
I'm still shocked that he kept stopping play just because a Lyon player fell over. Not as shocked though how a Referee who has been done for Match Fixing could be given any game let alone a Europa League Quarter Final. Imagine how that feels to other Referees who have never taken part in anything so dodgy seeing a cheat get the game in front of you!

Fifth Column 8:11 Sat Apr 9
Re: Serious question regarding the referee va Lyon
Mad Dog

If you slip and accidentally touch the ball and it moves from a free kick then no, play has not restarted.

If the ref thought he'd just dropped without actually trying to throw the ball then play has not restarted and he can then take the throw. Without a replay I'm. Not sure what I'd have decided. It wasn't clear cut... Unlike the foil on bowen in lead up to their goal which was 100% a foul

Mad Dog 10:22 Sat Apr 9
Re: Serious question regarding the referee va Lyon
Same concept as if taking a free kick, slipping and either knocking it a few inches or off your other foot. You've ettmpted a play and made a mistake.

Mad Dog 9:40 Sat Apr 9
Re: Serious question regarding the referee va Lyon
He attempted a throw, fucked it up, it came on the pitch.

Foul throw.

Fifth Column 9:05 Sat Apr 9
Re: Serious question regarding the referee va Lyon
Mad Dog

Which law in LOAF says if you drop the ball on the pitch it's a foul throw?

Fifth Column 9:04 Sat Apr 9
Re: Serious question regarding the referee va Lyon
Mad Dog

Which law in LOAF says if you drop the ball on the pitch it's a foul throw?

Mike Oxsaw 1:02 Sat Apr 9
Re: Serious question regarding the referee va Lyon
There are some in authority who believe that those in authority must never, ever, be questioned.

Mad Dog 8:22 Fri Apr 8
Re: Serious question regarding the referee va Lyon
If it lands on the pitch, it's a foul throw

Fifth Column 8:13 Fri Apr 8
Re: Serious question regarding the referee va Lyon
YC

The player had ball slip out of his hands. That's not a foul throw. Play hasn't restarted so the player can take it again. I'd have made the same decision and the same with the red card.

However, stopping play with those ####s on the floor is almost inexplicable. It's not justified with the rules.

David L 12:18 Fri Apr 8
Re: Serious question regarding the referee va Lyon
Yes different ref 2nd leg from what I've seen

yngwies Cat 10:24 Fri Apr 8
Re: Serious question regarding the referee va Lyon
I don't understand why he still let the Lyon plater take the throw again after the foul throw. Fuckin useless.

Pentonville 9:54 Fri Apr 8
Re: Serious question regarding the referee va Lyon
Did the Ref slip the ball through to Dembele to encourage the stupid hand on his arm from Creswell to win the Red Csrd bet?
Did the Ref encourage Anotnio to make a terrible decision when through on goal in first half or completely bottle a challenge with the goalie in the second?
He like many other refs put up with Lyon staying on floor and waving for a leg injury, it's common on the continent. I reckon he was not the best Ref for sure but let's get it right, we were shit and it isn't hard to keep a shit team like Lyon at bay.

Rossal 9:38 Fri Apr 8
Re: Serious question regarding the referee va Lyon
I hope that ref gets shot

cheating german cunt

Page 1 - Next




Copyright 2006 WHO.NET | Powered by: